Blog Stats

Why is it that there seems to be little relation between when I make a post and when the most views of my blog appear to take place? Are the stats updated in real time, every hour, at a certain time of day? I suppose that others only read blogs at particular times of the day, but in our online community there are people in a multitude of time zones that would, I expect, negate that effect.

I also find it a little disconcerting when I write what I think is an interesting post and nobody seems to look at it, then I write some inane piece of crap and I get lots of likes. Perhaps my idea of what is a good post doesn’t match other peoples. I admit that sometimes I think I have posted something decent and it is well visited, so this is not always the case. I suppose that it is all about perception. People’s perceptions differ. What may be interesting to me may not be to others.

Do bloggers out there analyse their own stats and see what keywords get the most views and whether there are any temporal patterns to be observed? From the views of my blog, and I freely admit that the sample size is very low, it seems that on Wednesdays and Thursdays there are fewer views than on most other days. Is this kind of analysis, especially with the very low number of views that I currently have of any real use?

What do others think? Is it a useful exercise, or is it something better left until I have a greater number of followers and views? If so, how does one get more followers. I suppose the only answer is to write more interesting posts and post regularly. Maybe commenting on others blogs more would be a good idea. Better use of tags also.

I will have to ponder these questions more, although ultimately it doesn’t really matter, I am enjoying my blogging experience thus far, and that is what truly matters.

42 thoughts on “Blog Stats

  1. In my limited WordPress experience, I’ve found that commenting on other blogs (like you said), is a phenomenal way of getting followers. It takes time to reach out, find blogs that interest you, comment, etc., but usually people appreciate the effort and will check out your blog. And if you just make the leap and hit the follow button, about 70% of the time they’ll follow you back. 🙂

    Like

  2. I think Michelle hit the nail on the head. Some days, I’ve posted things that I think are going to change the world *ahem* okay maybe not change the world, but views are minimal. Other days I do nothing and the hits roll in.

    I’ve found searching out other bloggers posting about what I’m interested in, writing, reading, photography and comment and like and most return the favour.

    The reader is a great way to do that and you can filter the topics you search for. Once you have your audience, more people will drop by on a more regular basis.

    I do tend to find the blogging awards posts seem very popular. A way of sharing some information about yourself and passing on the blogging love 🙂

    Happy blogging!

    Like

  3. I have given up on writing things that I think will draw followers. I just write now. If you build it they will come kind of thing:) One thing I have noticed with trying to like and comment on your posts, is that i have to do it from email. If I try to access your blog from mine it always gives me an error, not sure why.

    Like

  4. I think that you are right Ionia. It is just better to write what you want to, not what you feel you should, and let those that are interested come. Sorry you are having problems commenting. Being new to this blogging lark I am afraid I have no clue about your problem. If you find out and there is anything I need to do to make it easier for you let me know. It is always nice to receive comments. In fact it puts a warm glow on my face when I see each new one!

    Like

  5. I would tell you write what really like . If you are a social creature , look for other blogs that have something in common with you and comment . If you like a post ,(like button) read it On the other hand what do I know . I really am not sure that is the way . If you write good posts they will come . Maybe . Good luck

    Like

    • I agree. I think that writing what you like is the best, but do so in an interesting way. Make what is interesting to you, interesting to others. Share your passion about whatever it is you enjoy or feel strongly about. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

