My Dirty Secret

I have a dirty little secret. I am a pusher. No, not drugs before you ask, books. In fact books, reading lists and the general encouragement of people to read. Here’s some classic literature, it will improve your mind, feed your soul. Going to an auction, here’s a book on current prices for first edition children’s literature. I fully appreciate that many of the people that I give books to or witter on to about my latest read, are not that interested, but maybe it will encourage a few of them to read more. I accept that my young nieces would probably rather have a pepper pig toy for Christmas than a book. Well they will get that, but also a copy of Aesop’s fables. You’ve got to start them young, especially nowadays. I even distribute reading lists to colleagues at work. They say they are interested in receiving a copy of it, although I am not sure how much of that is motivated by their desire for me to shut up and go away. The long, short and tall of it is that, I am a pusher. A book pusher. And I am proud of it.

I have just finished ‘Twenty Three Tales’ by Leo Tolstoy. A collection of short stories on a variety of subjects, aimed at a variety of people. Some were originally intended for children, but I am not sure how suitable they would be considered today. Anyway, it was a good read and now I will move on to the plays of Sophocles. I will definitely alternate that with some genre fiction. James Patterson I think.

Tell me, are you a pusher too?

31 thoughts on “My Dirty Secret

  1. First of all, I am never in a rush rush for you to go away and certainly never to shut up either. I am the annoying book person in my family and although they humor me, I am no fool to the looks that pass amongst them when I get started on a “book tangent” as my mum would call it.

    Reading is important. I can honestly say that i have learned most everything I know between the covers (of a book I swear) that just sounds so wrong…and I am proud to be a complete geek. I suppose I am a bit of a snob but I would rather listen to the opinions of a written page than those of many people. Keep being you. I like it.

    Like

  2. I enjoying pushing both books and drugs in combo. Surprisingly effective at convincing people to read more 😉

    Not a big fan of Tolstoy (I know, GET OUT, right?) but I like Sophocles and Aesop. I can’t speak for James Patterson but I’m certainly impressed by his ability to churn out bestsellers.

    Keep on pushing,
    fellow booklover, bookwriter, bookseller & bookworm

    Like

  3. I’ve always been a book pusher 😉 I’m a middle school counselor and always asking my students what they’re reading. A few years ago we took pics of various teachers posing with their fave book and they hang in our library now. I think it’s important that kids see adults read, too. 😉

    Like

    • I think it is incumbent upon all of us readers to help ensure that the world has the opportunity to get as much pleasure from the written word that we do. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

