Cover Reveal – Legends of Windemere: Allure of the Gypsies

Allure Final Cover

Cover artist: Jason Pedersen

In advance of the release of the next book in the Legends of Windemere series, ‘Allure of the Gypsies’, by the excellent Charles Yallowitz, here is the final cover reveal, and further information about this exciting new book. This book will be released on the 1st December 2013. Mark it down in your diaries, personal planners, wall calendars, whatever. Just don’t forget that date.

Book Description

The epic adventures of Luke Callindor and Nyx continue after their journey down the L’Dandrin River in Legends of Windemere: Prodigy of Rainbow Tower.

Reeling from his failures in their previous adventure, Luke leads his surviving friends to his hometown. With his mind frayed and his confidence fractured, Luke must face the family and fiancée he left behind. It is a brief homecoming when the vampire Kalam attacks the village, forcing Luke and Nyx to break into his lair for the key to resurrecting a fallen warrior. It is a quest that will force both young heroes to reach new heights of strength and power that they never knew they had.

Can Luke and Nyx escape the lair of Kalam? And, what role will the orphaned gypsy Sari play in their looming destiny?

The previous books in the Legends of Windemere series can be found here:

Beginning of a Hero

Prodigy of Rainbow Tower

Author Bio

Charles Yallowitz was born and raised on Long Island, NY, but he has spent most of his life wandering his own imagination in a blissful haze. Occasionally, he would return from this world for the necessities such as food, showers, and Saturday morning cartoons. One day he returned from his imagination and decided he would share his stories with the world. After his wife decided that she was tired of hearing the same stories repeatedly, she convinced him that it would make more sense to follow his dream of being a fantasy author. So, locked within the house under orders to shut up and get to work, Charles brings you Legends of Windemere. He looks forward to sharing all of his stories with you and his wife is happy he finally has someone else to play with.

You can visit Charles at his blog Legends of Windemere and find out all the cool stuff that he is doing.

The Last Clinic by Gary Gusick

The Last ClinicThe Last Clinic by Gary Gusick

Description from Goodreads

In a fast-paced, suspenseful debut novel for fans of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner, detective Darla Cavannah goes Deep South in pursuit of a merciless killer.

Outside the local women’s health clinic, the Reverend Jimmy Aldridge waving his protest sign is a familiar sight. But that changes early one morning when someone shoots the beloved Reverend Jimmy dead. Sheriff Shelby Mitchell knows the preacher’s murder will shock the good people of Jackson—and the pressure to find the killer is immediate and intense, which is why Shelby calls in detective Darla Cavannah.

When police detective Darla moved from Philadelphia to Jackson with her husband—hometown football hero Hugh “the Glue” Cavannah—she never imagined the culture shock that awaited. Then after Hugh dies in a car crash, Darla enters a self-imposed exile in her Mississippi home, taking a leave of absence from the sheriff’s department. Now she’s called back to duty—or coerced, more like it, with Shelby slathering on his good-ole-boy charm nice and thick, like on a helping of barbecue.

Reluctantly partnered with a mulish Elvis impersonator, Darla keeps a cool head even as the community demands an arrest. The court of public opinion has already convicted the clinic’s doctor, Stephen Nicoletti, but Darla is just as sure he’s not guilty—even as she fights her growing attraction to him. From the genteel suburbs to a raunchy strip club, Darla follows a trail of dirty money and nasty secrets—until the day of judgment comes, and she faces down an ungodly assassin.

I gave this book four stars out of five

My thoughts:

I enjoyed this book immensely. It was an exciting detective story, that began with the murder of a revered priest and developed into something a lot more complex.

I liked the main character, Darla Cavannah, a strong woman that had been through some difficult times, working in a generally male dominated  profession. She was an interesting character with an intriguing back story that was slowly revealed as the plot developed. There was plenty of antagonism between Darla and the other detective on the case, Tommy.

Tommy’s attitude towards the dead priest, and the clinic and its doctor, ran counter to Darla’s. Tommy displayed all of the worst qualities a detective could have, being biased and prejudiced, as a member of the dead priest’s church. He was continually seeking media attention, to further his personal agenda.

What at first seemed to be, and ultimately actually was, an isolated incident, an act of violence against a beloved priest, led to a much larger national plot of anti-abortion terror activity. Numerous originally unidentified crimes began falling into a pattern linked to the dead priest, who turns out not to be so innocent and holy as his reputation amongst his flock would have suggested.

I didn’t guess who the killer of Reverend Jimmy was until quite late in the book after sufficient breadcrumbs had been scattered for the reader. I liked that there were numerous storylines that complemented the initial premise of the book, and ultimately turned out to be far further reaching than the initial crime of violence.

I think the author did a great job, providing sufficient suspense and interest to keep me wanting to read, and creating likeable characters that I was able to invest in. I would recommend this book to anyone that wants a gripping detective story, filled with twists and turns.

This review is based on a digital ARC provided by Netgalley and the publisher.

The Illusions of Eventide: Cover Reveal

Check out this cover reveal for the third House of Crimson and Clover novel ‘The Illusions of Eventide’ by Sarah M. Cradit.

...and then there was Sarah

The cover for the third House of Crimson and Clover novel is here!

EventideFullCover

The Illusions of Eventide will hit retailers on December 14th, 2013.

Add The Illusions of Eventide to your Goodreads TBR:

goodreads_icon_1000x1000-bed183559c02a417861f930e33e157d1

Story Overview

Nicolas Deschanel was betrayed by the only two people who matter to him. Their disloyalty stung and an overwhelming sense of loss lingers. Nicolas has lived the high life professing to not have a care in the world, and now this illusion is calling his bluff.

Determined to take control of an existence now devoid of purpose, he sojourns to his family’s holiday home on the Gulf of Mexico. Resolved more than depressed, he plans to privately say goodbye to a world which no longer needs him. Of questionable fortune, he finds a woman, Mercy, sitting alone on the shore at eventide. Nicolas is conflicted between an obligation to help, and annoyance at her…

View original post 127 more words

An Interview with the fabulous Carly Drake

Another great author interview. Check it out.

readful things blog

Please give author Carly Drake–author of Words Once Spokena big welcome to Readful Things. This series promises to be one of the most exciting and adventurous new series out there. Carly has been kind enough to offer us some insight into her books and her writing career–thank you for sharing with us!

18367335

What was the earliest thing you remember writing?

I remember being really little, I think it was after my 5th birthday, which incidentally, I spent in the hospital with a nasty tummy bug. My dad really wanted me to write “thank you” cards for the birthday presents I had gotten. There were so many to write and when you are that young, a task like that is pretty arduous. Most of my earliest “writing” memories were equally traumatic in one way or the other, so its a huge surprise to me that I’m actually an author!

When…

View original post 602 more words

The Amazing Adventures Of Chilly Billy by Peter Mayle

I am sure many of you remember the hugely entertaining TV mini series ‘A Year in Provence’ starring John Thaw, based on Peter Mayle’s experiences, but I suspect that many of you, like me, had no idea that Peter Mayle had also written children’s books. Check it out here.

readful things blog

peter_mayleNew York Times and internationally bestselling author Peter Mayle is best known for his books about Provence, but he also wrote a series of children’s books that feature the same brand of charm and wit that his readers love.

Peter, who has five children, wrote The Amazing Adventures of Chilly Billy for his two sons. With illustrations by acclaimed children’s book artist Arthur Robins, it was first published in 1983. The Chilly Billy books sold millions worldwide but went out of print and were more or less forgotten, with some of the original copies selling for a thousand dollars.

chillybillycvr

Peter still loves these books, but it was his wife, Jennie, who suggested they be re-issued in digital format as well as print. Escargot Books, which has already re-issued several Mayle books, will also be producing this delightful book for their upcoming Ear Movies—innovative radio-theater style audio books—with British actor Terence…

View original post 75 more words

Tomorrow

So it was my turn to do the weekly prompt for the Community Storyboard this week. Check it out here. Have a go and see what you come up with.

Here was my humble effort.

Tomorrow

They say tomorrow never comes
It never mattered before
Yesterday, today, tomorrow
Were all a bit of a bore
 
A time when tomorrow didn’t exist
Before my world was light
When every day merged into one
Nothing ever seemed right

And then it happened, out of the blue
You appeared in my life
Our love it grew, so very strong
With every new discovery

Then, looking towards tomorrow
At what our future holds
Knowing, deep in my heart
That you are all I want

Tomorrow has been a long time coming,
But now it is finally here,
We have wished and wished,
For so very long, and now tomorrow’s here

Some say tomorrow never comes,
But for once they are all wrong
Because so soon, so very soon,
Tomorrow comes along

Now I dream of all those tomorrows
Knowing they will become todays
So now I know they were all wrong
As tomorrow always comes.

The promise of tomorrow
Becomes the reality of today
Soon we’ll be together
and that’s the way we’ll stay

Today is almost yesterday
As tomorrow becomes today
Rather than wait for tomorrow
Let’s turn it into today

An Interview with Author Michael M. Hughes (Blackwater Lights)

Another excellent and revealing interview by Ionia of Readful Things, this time with Michael M. Hughes, author of ‘Blackwater Lights’, a most intriguing looking book.

readful things blog

Today, I am very pleased to feature author Michael Hughes from Random House’s Hydra imprint. He is the author of “Blackwater Lights,” which I recently read and fell in love with. You can find my review here in case you missed it. I would like to take a moment and thank Mr. Hughes for agreeing to the interview and providing insight into his creative process. Please welcome him to Readful Things 🙂

 

 
 Tell us a little about you and your writing career.

I’ve been writing fiction and poetry ever since I was a kid, and I first attempted a novel when I was seven (about a modern day vampire) but only got through three chapters. I distinctly remember sitting on my bedroom floor pecking at the keys on my typewriter and being startled (and a little freaked out) at how the words I was putting on paper were…

View original post 2,073 more words